* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home

The Juvenile Collection

Return to "Guide to Children's Literature"

SCOPE
The Library has a representative collection of literature written for children, primarily preschool to Grade 6.  Intended for the use of students in teacher education, child development, and children's literature courses, this collection consists of picture books, fiction, and non-fiction.  Significant secondary sources, such as lists of best books, books about children's authors and illustrators, reviews, and selection aids are also included in the collection.

LOCATION
The Juvenile Collection is located on the third floor of the Library, between the call numbers L and M.

ARRANGEMENT
The Juvenile Collection is shelved according to the Dewey Decimal Classification scheme, the system that is used most often in school and public libraries.  The major call numbers are FIC (fiction), BIOG (biography), EASY (picture books), and the numbers 000-999 for nonfiction:

000-999 Generalities 500-599 Pure sciences
100-199 Philosophy 600-699 Technology
200-299 Religion 700-799 The arts
300-399 Social sciences 800-899 Literature
400-499 Language 900-999 History

Books that discuss the history of children's literature are shelved at the beginning of the Juvenile collection and retain the Library of Congress Classification call number.

The arrangement of the books in the Juvenile Collection, at the end of the call number L, is:

JUV / PN - Z
001 - 999
Biography
Fiction
Easy

PICTURE BOOKS
Picture books and books suitable for reading aloud are frequently found in the following call numbers:

EASY Picture books
398.2 Mythology, folklore, fairy tales
811, 821  Poetry

NON-ENGLISH LANGUAGE BOOKS
Books written in languages other than English are shelved together with those in English.  In the Library Catalog use the Subject Headings "Bilingual Books" or "Spanish language materials -- Juvenile literature."  Multicultural Literature for Children:  An Annotated Guide also lists some bilingual titles.

TIPS FOR USING THE LIBRARY CATALOG TO FIND CHILDREN'S BOOKS
From the Main Menu select Children's Collection

  • To search for children's books about various topics do a SUBJECT search
  • To search for a specific title do a TITLE search
  • To search for books by a specific author do an AUTHOR search
  • To search for interpretations of children's literature use the Subject Heading "Children's literature -- History and criticism."
  • To search for lists of specific types of books use the Subject Heading "Children's literature -- Bibliography."

Return to "Guide to Children's Literature"

Library Catalog | Contact Us | Quick Links | What's New | Help


This document is maintained by: the CSUS Library(wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 08/23/2008