* CSU Stanislaus Library Library Home

Bibliographies of Children's Literature
 in the CSU Stanislaus Library

Return to "Guide to Children's Literature"

Authors | Award Winners & Notable Books | Gender Issues  | Multicultural BooksBooks to Read Aloud  | Reading Levels | Specific Topics & Genres  | Electronic Books

Authors

Books by African-American Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults.  JUV 016.3058 WIL
Major Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults:  A Selection of Sketches from Something About The Author.  JUV 011 MAJ, v. 1 -v. 6
Twentieth Century Children's Writers.  JUV 011 TWC
Writers of Multicultural Fiction for Young Adults:  A Bio-Critical Sourcebook.  JUV 016 .3058 WRI.

Award winners, Notable books

Adventuring with Books:  A Booklist for Pre-K - Grade 6.  JUV 011 ADV 1993.
Best Books for Children:  Preschool through Grade 6. JUV 011 GIL 1998, 011 GIL 1994, 011 GIL 2002.
Best Books for Young Adults (2000).  JUV 028.162 CAR.
Books for You.  JUV 016.05 BOO.
Children’s Books, Awards & Prizes:  Includes Prizes and Awards for Young Adult Books.  JUV 028.5 CHB 1996.
Hit List:  Frequently Challenged Books for Young Adults.  JUV 028.5 HIT.
More Teachers’ Favorite Books for Kids:  Teachers’ Choices, 1994-1996.  JUV 011 TEA 1997.
More Teens’ Favorite Books:  Young Adults’ Choices, 1993-1995.  JUV 011 TEE 1996.
Newbery and Caldecott Awards [2000 ed.]:  A Guide to the Medal and Honor Books.  In processing.
Outstanding Books for the College Bound:  Choices for a Generation.  Z1039.C65 09 1996.  http://www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists/obcb/
Teens’ Favorite Books:  Young Adults’ Choices, 1987-1992.  JUV 011 TEE.
Teen Genreflecting.  JUV 016.8 Her 1997.
Your Reading:  An Annotated Booklist for Middle School and Junior High.  JUV 011 YOU 1996.

Return to Top

Gender Issues

Girls Are People Too!  A Bibliography of Nontraditional Female Roles in Children’s Books.  JUV Z1037 .N66.
Girls, Boys, Books, Toys:  Gender in Children’s Literature and Culture.  Regular book stacks:  PN 1009.5 .S48 G57 1999.
Let’s Hear It for the Girls:  375 Great Books for Readers 2 – 14.  JUV 018.8088 BAU.

Multicultural Books

A Hispanic Heritage, Series IV:  A Guide to Juvenile Books about Hispanic People and Cultures.  JUV 016.30586 SCH.
A Latino Heritage, Series V:  A Guide to Juvenile Books about Latino People and Cultures.  JUV 016.3058 WIL.
A Resource Guide for Asian and Pacific American Students, K-12
.  JUV 016.30589 LU
Books by African-American Authors and Illustrators for Children and Young Adults.  JUV 016.3058 WIL.
Connecting Cultures:  A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children.  JUV 016.3058 THO.
Cultural Mosaics:  An Annotated Bibliography of Multicultural Resources for the K-12 Classroom.  JUV 016.3058 BON.
Developing Multicultural Awareness Through Children’s Literature:  A Guide for Teachers and Librarians, Grades K-8.  JUV 016 .3058 ROB.
Kaleidoscope:  A Multicultural Booklist for Grades K-8.  JUV 016.3058 KAL 1997.
Latina and Latino Voices in Literature for Children and Teenagers.  JUV 016.86 DAY.
Literature for Children about Asians and Asian Americans:  Analysis and Annotated Bibliography, with Additional Readings for Adults.  JUV 016.95 JEN
Many Peoples, One Land:  A Guide to New Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults.  JUV 016.3058 HEL 2001.
Native Americans in Fiction:  A Guide to 765 Books for Librarians and Teachers, K-9.  JUV 106.305897 AND
Our Family, Our Friends, Our World:  An Annotated Guide to Significant Multicultural Books for Children and Teenagers.  JUV Z1037 .M654 1992.  JUV 011 .3058 MIL|
The New Press Guide to Multicultural Resources for Young Readers.  JUV 028.5 NEW 1997.
This Land Is Our Land:  A Guide to Multicultural Literature for Children and Young Adults.  JUV 016.3058 HEL
Through Indian Eyes:  The Native Experience in Books for Children.  JUV 016 .305897 THR
Venture into Cultures:  A Resource Book of Multicultural Materials and Programs.  JUV 016.3058 VEN

Return to Top

Books to Read Aloud

Books Kids Will Sit Still For:  A Guide to Using Children’s Literature for Librarians, Teachers, and Parents.  JUV Z 1037 .F847 1984.
More Books Kids Will Sit Still For:  A Read-Aloud Guide (1995).  On order
The Read-Aloud Handbook.  JUV Z 1037 .T74x 2001, 1995, 1982.

Reading Levels

High/Low Handbook:  Books, Materials, and Services for the Problem Reader.  JUV Z1039. S5 H54 1985.
High/Low Handbook:  Encouraging Literacy in the 1990s.  JUV 016 .087HIG 1990.
High Interest Easy Reading:  An Annotated Booklist for Middle and Senior High School.  JUV 028.5 NAT 1996.

Specific Topics & Genres

A to Zoo:  Subject Access to Children’s Picture Books.  JUV 001 LIM 2001.
Beyond Picture Books:  A Guide to First Readers.  JUV 011 BAR 1995.
Books for You JUV 016.05 BOO.
Books to Help Children Cope with Separation and Loss.  4th ed.  JUV 016. 1559 BOO 1993.
Character Education:  A Book Guide for Teachers, Librarians, and Parents.  JUV 016 .37011 MCE
E for Environment:  An Annotated Bibliography of Children’s Books with Environmental Themes.  JUV 011 SIN.
From Biography to History:  Best Books for Children’s Entertainment and Education.  JUV 016.92 FRO 1998.
Informational Picture Books for Children.  JUV 028.162 CIA 2000.
Plays for Children and Young Adults:  An Evaluative Index and Guide.  JUV 016.812 KAR.  Supplement I, 1989-1994.  JUV 016.812 KAR 1996.
The Best Years of Their Lives:  A Resource Guide for Teenagers in Crisis.  JUV 016.3052 ZVI.

Electronic Books

100 Most Popular Picture Books, Authors, and Illustrators:  Biographical Sketches and Bibliographies.
A Sense of Place:  Teaching Children about the Environment with Picture Books.
Black Books Galore!  Guide to Great African American Children’s Books.
Children’s Book Awards Annual, 1999.
Children’s Literature:  A Guide to Information Sources.
Coretta Scott King Award Books:  Using Great Literature with Children.
Educator’s Companion to Children’s Literature, Vol. 1:  Mysteries, Animal Tales, Books of Humor, Adventure Stories, and Historical Fiction.
Educator’s Companion to Children’s Literature, Vol. 2
Exploring the Environment Through Children’s Literature:  An Integrated Approach.
Families in Children’s Literature:  A Resource Guide, Grades 4-8.
Gotcha!  Nonfiction Booktalks to Get Kids Excited about Reading.
Inside Picture Books.

Junior Genreflecting:  A Guide to Good Reads and Series Fiction for Children.
Quizzes for 220 Great Children’s Books:  The Quest Motivational Reading Program.
Regendering the School Story:  Sassy Sissies and Tattling Tomboys.
Science Through Children’s Literature:  An Integrated Approach.
Soaring Through the Universe:  Astronomy Through Children’s Literature.
The Coretta Scott King Award Books:  Using Great Literature with Children and Young Adults.
The Reading Connection:  Bringing Parents, Teachers, and Librarians Together.

Return to Top

Library Catalog | Contact Us | Quick Links | What's New | Help


This document is maintained by: the CSUS Library(wwwlibrary@wwwlibrary.csustan.edu)
Page updated: 03/31/2008