*
![]() |
Library Home |
The databases on this page allow you to search for bibliographic or
full-text records in a number of subject areas.
These databases are also listed by subject.
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
|
Name of Resource |
Description / Information | |
| ABI/INFORM Business Databases |
Yes |
Full-text of articles from business and academic journals. Includes trade journals and industry newsletters as well as local/regional business publications. The multiple sources included in this interface also provide access to Hoover's Company Records, research reports on markets in North America, and analysis of business and economic conditions in 195 countries around the world. |
| Academic Search Elite |
Yes |
Index to over 8 million articles published in over 3000 periodicals, including 2500 peer-reviewed journals representing all disciplines. Also includes the full-text of the artices from over 1500 peer-reviewed journals and 500 general periodicals. |
| ACLS History & Humanities E-Book Project |
Yes |
Full-text of over 1000 books selected by the ACLS (American Council of Learned Societies) of interest to scholars and advanced students in the field of history. Areas covered include Womens Studies as well as U.S., European, Native American and Middle Eastern history from ancient times to the present. |
| ACM Digital Library |
Yes |
Full-text of 40 computer science journals and trade publications, as well as proceedings from 80 conferences. Covers issues published from the 1950s to the present. |
| ACM Guide to Computing Literature |
Yes |
Citations to and/or abstracts of over 1 million publications in computer science, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports. |
| AGRICOLA |
Yes |
Materials relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science. Contains over 3,500,000 records compiled by the National Agricultural Library of the US Department of Agriculture (USDA). Includes records of books, serials, audiovisual and other materials. Coverage is from 1970 to present. Updated monthly. |
| America: History and Life |
Yes |
Citations to research publications on the history of the United States and Canada from pre-colonial times to the present. Includes selected journal articles, book reviews, chapters and dissertations published from 1954 to the present. Most entries include abstracts, and selected entries also link to full-text articles online. Also available via the previous (ABC-CLIO) interface. |
| American Chemical Society Publications |
Yes |
Full-text of over 500,000 articles published in 45 current and historical American Chemical Society journals. Coverage starts with the first vol ume published and continues through the most recent issue. |
| American Institute of Physics |
Yes |
Contains the full text of 38 journals from the American Institute of Physics and its member societies. Coverage is from 2000-current. |
| Anthropological Index Online |
No |
Index to articles published in over 1500 anthropology journals from 1957 - present. |
| AnthroSource |
Yes |
Full-text of 40,000 articles from 30 journals published by the American Anthropoligical Society from 1888 to the present. |
| Art Abstracts |
Yes |
Index to and abstracts of articles in key art journals published from 1984 to the present. |
| Article First |
Yes |
Searches citations to 19 million articles published in over 16,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Also provides citations to stories, letters and reviews listed in a journal's table of contents. |
| Bibliography of the History of Art |
Yes |
Citations and abstracts from 1973 to the present for art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from more than 2,500 periodicals. BHA includes and extends the coverage of its two predecessor art indexes: RAA (Repertoire d'Art et d'Archeologie) from 1973 to 1989 and RILA (International Repertory of the Literature of Art) from 1975 to 1989. |
| Biography and Genealogy Master Index |
Yes |
An index to biographical sketches from over 700 biographical dictionaries. |
| Biological Abstracts |
Yes |
Citations to over 7 million articles published in over 4,000 life science and biomedical journals from 1969 to the present. |
| Blackwell-Synergy |
Yes |
See Synergy-Blackwell. |
| Book Review Digest Retrospective |
Yes |
Index to 1.5 million reviews of over 300,000 books published from 1905-1982, including a summary of at least one review for each book. |
| Book Review Index |
Yes |
Citations to critiques of books published in thousands of selected academic journals, newspapers and magazines. Covers 1965 to the present. |
| Books In Print |
Yes |
In-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos, with optional reviews. |
| Britannica Online |
Yes |
Full-text articles from the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Britannica Concise Encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Quotations, the World Data Analyst, selected magazines and wire services, and links to classic works and World Wide Web sites selected by Britannica editors. |
| Business Full Text |
Yes |
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of almost 2 million articles published in over 800 business journals from 1984 to the present. Subjects covered include accounting, management, and marketing. Includes direct access to the full-text of articles from over 400 business, trade, and scholarly publications. |
| Calisphere |
No |
Includes images, documents, and other primary source materials from the University of California and and cultural heritage organizations. Calisphere’s primary sources include photographs, documents, newspapers, political cartoons, art, diaries, oral histories, advertising, and other cultural on the history and culture of California. The resources are aligned with California's K-12 Content Standards. |
| Checkpoint - Core Tax Library |
No |
Published by Thomson RIA, includes federal tax laws and research tools, the U.S Tax Reporter, a complete case law library, and tax materials for all U.S. states. |
| Chicano Database |
Yes |
Citations to books and articles on Mexican-American topics and Chicanos. Coverage is from the 1960s to the present, with selective coverage dating back to the early 1900s. Records added since 1992 have expanded the scope to include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. |
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text |
Yes |
Citations to articles from over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals published from 1937 to the present, including the full-text of articles from over 300 of the journals indexed. Also includes citations to selected books, dissertations, and other nursing-related materials. |
| ClasePeriodica |
Yes |
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. Consists of 2 parts, Clase and Periodica. Clase indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities, and Periodica covers journals specializing in science and technology. Together they offer access to more than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. ClasePeriodica contains information from articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews and brief notes published in journals edited in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues. Clase covers from 1975 to present, and Periodica covers from 1978 to present. |
| Classical Music Library (CML) |
Yes |
CML is a streaming classical music service for libraries that enables listening and learning at library and home computers. The service offers a continually growing music collection, currently consisting of over 19,000 classical music tracks (not works) from over 500 composers, as well as thousands of cross-referenced program notes, suggested playlists, biographies and images. |
| CollegeSource Online |
Yes |
Full-text versions of over 6,900 college catalogs. |
| Communication and Mass Media Complete |
Yes |
Full-text of articles from over 200 communications and media journals, and descriptions of articles from over 300 more journals and trade publications. |
| Contemporary Authors |
Yes |
Biographical information about current authors, a bibliography of their publications, as well as citations to important critiques of their work. Also available in the Library's Reference Collection shelved under the call number REF CT120 .C62x |
| Contemporary Literary Criticism Select |
Yes |
Full-text of selected articles which critique and interpret works by current authors. Also available in the Library's Reference Collection shelved under the call number REF PN771 .C59 |
| Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) |
Yes |
Provides full-text access to over 35,000 entries on global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Includes links to full-text articles for many articles. Coverage is from 1992-present. Updated every 2 weeks. |
| CountryWatch.com |
Yes |
Provides information profiling and reporting political, economic, corporate and environmental news and trends for each of the 191 countries around the world. |
| CQ Electronic Library |
Yes |
Includes the full-text of the CQ Researcher (1991 - present), CQ Weekly Report (1983 - present), and selected government, political science, and public policy materials published by the CQ Press. |
| CQ Researcher |
Yes |
Excellent overviews of over 500 key social, economic, and policy issues in American society. Each week a new topic is covered in a 20-30 page report, including an overview, background, the current debate, likely outcomes, pro/con arguments, and a bibliography of key sources. Includes all issues published from 1991 - present. |
| Criminal Justice Abstracts |
Yes |
Citations to 80,000 journal articles, books and reports in criminology and related disciplines published from 1968 to the present. |
| CWI (Contemporary Women’s Issues) |
Yes |
Provides full-text access to over 35,000 entries on global information on women in over 150 countries. Indexes books, journals, newsletters, research reports from non-profit groups, government and international agencies, and fact sheets. Includes links to full-text articles for many articles. Coverage is from 1992-present. Updated every 2 weeks. |
| D&B Million Dollar Database |
Yes |
Basic data on U.S. companies, such as addresses, ticker symbols, number of employees, sales, and SIC/NAICS codes. Advanced search options include industry, company size, geographic areas and keywords. |
| Dictionary of Literary Biography |
Yes |
Biographical information about authors who wrote from ancient times to the 20th century, a bibliography of their publications, as well as citations to important critiques of their work. Also available in the Library's Reference Collection shelved under the call number PN451 .D52x |
| Directory of Open Access Journals |
No |
A free website which links to over 2500 scientific and scholarly journals that provide free access to full-text articles online. |
| DOAJ Free Article Search |
No |
Searches over 100,000 articles freely available from over 800 of the scientific, scholarly journals listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals site. |
| Dissertation (Full-Text via ProQuest) |
Yes |
Includes descriptions (abstracts) of over 1 million dissertations and theses written for humanities and social sciences degrees, as well as the full-text (in PDF) of most of these dissertations written since 1997. Does not cover science and engineering. |
| Dissertation Abstracts |
Yes |
Descriptions of over 2 million dissertations from all disciplines (including science and engineering) accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. Does not include full-text. Also available via the FirstSearch suite. |
| eBooks (from OCLC) |
Yes |
Index to hundreds of thousands of online and electronic books cataloged by libraries around the country. |
| Electronic Journal Collections |
Yes |
Links to online collections which include the full-text of journal articles. Over forty different collections provide access to some of the 15,000+ journals, magazines and newspapers available via University Library subscriptions. |
| EBSCO Host Research Databases |
Yes |
EBSCOhost Web includes databases which index journal articles and other research publications in biology, nursing, and psychology. |
| ECO |
Yes |
Collection of scholarly journals. Includes full text for titles to which library subscribes, and bibliographic information for other titles. |
| EconLit |
Yes |
Citations to books, dissertations, and working papers in the field of economics. Also available via the FirstSearch suite. |
| Education Full Text |
Yes |
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 600,000 articles published in over 700 education journals from 1984 to the present. Also includes direct access to the full-text of articles from over 300 peer-reviewed and trade journals in education. |
| Elsevier ScienceDirect |
Yes |
See ScienceDirect. |
| Emerald |
Yes |
Emerald, the Electronic Management Research Library Database, provides full-text access to over 130 journals from MCB University Press. Subjects covered include Engineering; General Management; Human Resources; Information Management; Library & Information Services; Marketing; Operations; Production & Economics; Property; Quality; and Training & Education. Coverage is from 1994-present for full-text, and 1989-1993 for citations and abstracts. |
| ERIC through FirstSearch |
Yes |
The major "search engine" for research in education, ERIC indexes journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The FirstSearch interface includes an option to limit to journals held by the University Library. |
| ERIC
through CSA |
Yes |
The major "search engine" for research in education, ERIC indexes journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The version from CSA can be searched simultaneously with Physical Educaton Abstracts. |
| ERIC through EBSCO |
Yes |
The major "search engine" for research in education, ERIC indexes journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The version from the U.S. Government is free to the general public. |
| ERIC via the U.S. Dept. of Education |
Yes |
The major "search engine" for research in education, ERIC indexes journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The version from the U.S. Government is free to the general public. |
| Ethnic NewsWatch |
Yes |
Full-text of articles published in more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and approximately 20% of the articles in Spanish. Includes over 1.4 million articles published from 1990 to the present, as well as several thousand from 1950 - 1989. |
| Factiva |
Yes |
Provides full-text access to over 8,000 business and current events sources, including newspapers, magazines, and newswires. Current stock prices, market research reports, and investment analyst reports are also available. Formerly called Dow Jones Interactive. NOTE: Factiva recommends using Internet Explorer 5.01 or higher to access their site. Factiva does not recommend using Netscape at this time. |
Family Studies Abstracts |
Yes |
SAGE Family Studies Abstracts abstracts articles, reports, books and other materials on policy, theory and research relating to the family, traditional and alternative lifestyles, therapy and counseling. |
| FASB Reports | No |
Full-text of Financial Accounting Standards Board reports and articles published from 2001 to the present. |
| FirstSearch |
Yes |
Suite of databases with extensive citations to books, articles, and conference publications worldwide. Includes ArticleFirst, ContentsFirst, ERIC, GPO, NetFirst, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, and WorldCat. |
| Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia |
Yes |
Basic encyclopedia compiling over 25,000 entries on general topics. Also includes selected images and brief biographies. |
| Gale Literary Databases |
Yes |
Biographies, bibliographies and criticism of over 100,000 authors, drawn from three respected reference publications, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography. |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library |
Yes |
Searchable full-text of over 90 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works in the arts, biography, business, education, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and social science. |
| Gender Watch |
Yes |
Provides access to over 100,000 articles focusing on gender roles as they affect both men and women. Titles from academic, popular, and gray literature include coverage of sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace. |
| General Reference Center Gold |
Yes |
Descriptions of articles from over 4,000 magazines, professional and trade journals, academic journals, and selected newspapers. Includes the full-text of roughly half of the articles listed. |
| General Science Full Text |
Yes |
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 1 million articles published in almost 300 science journals from 1984 to the present. Subjects covered include astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environment, health, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, physics, physiology, and zoology. Also includes the full-text of articles from over 100 science publications. |
| GEOBASE |
Yes |
Contains over one million records dealing with geography, geology, and ecology. Covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Coverage is from 1980-present. Updated twice per month. Also available via the FirstSearch suite. |
| GPO |
Yes |
Over 380,000 records for U.S. government publications on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government. |
| GreenFile |
Yes |
Index to over 200,000 articles related to the human impact on the environment published in over 600 periodicals (including over 200 peer-reviewed journals).Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. |
| Grove Dictionary of Art Online |
Yes |
Contains over 45,000 articles on all aspects of art. Provides the full text of the 34-volume print edition as well as 130,000 searchable images and links to over 1,000 web sites. Updated quarterly. |
| Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians |
Yes |
Contains over 29,000 articles on all aspects of music. Provides the full text of the 29-volume New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians (2nd edition) as well as the complete text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera. |
| Highwire Press |
No |
A free website which searches descriptions of over 4 million articles published in 1000 scholarly journals, including 71 of the 200 most-frequently-cited journals. Provides free access to the full-text of over 1 million articles. |
| Historical Abstracts |
Yes |
Citations to and abstracts of journal articles, selected books, chapters, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Also available via the previous (ABC-CLIO) interface. |
| History & Humanities E-Book Project |
Yes |
See ACLS Humanities E-Book Project. |
| Humanities Full Text |
Yes |
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 250,000 articles and reviews of 300,000 books published in over 600 humanities journals from 1984 to the present. Subjects covered include archaeology, area studies, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, and theatre. Also includes the full-text of articles published in over 200 humanities journals from 1995 to the present. |
| ICPSR Data Sets |
Yes |
The Inter-univeristy Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to research data sets gathered by governments, academic researchers, non-profit organizations and other organizations. Data sets generally include individual responses to surveys, and need to be analyzed using a program like SPSS. [guide] |
| In the First Person |
Yes |
Index to primary source materials available in over 3,000 historical archives around the country. Includes information on over 15,000 people, including access to the full-text of 20,000 diary entries, 60,000 letters, and 17,000 oral histories. |
| ingenta |
Yes |
Indexes and abstracts over 10 million articles from over 25,000 research publications. |
| IoP Select |
No |
Access to selected articles from Institute of Physics research journals, including the Journal of Physics (A, B, D and G), Journal of Optics, Nanotechnology, Physical Biology, Physics in Medicine and Biology, and Physiological Measurement.. |
| JSTOR |
Yes |
JSTOR is an online archive of older issues of almost 1,000 scholarly journals from a wide variety of disciplines in the arts and sciences, including archaeology, art and architecture, area studies, biology, botany, classics, ecology, economics, history, language and literature, law, music, performing arts, pscyhology, public policy, religion, and zoology. The University Library subscribes to most JSTOR titles, including all of the Arts & Sciences collections and the Biological Sciences Collection. JSTOR's coverage usually ends approximately 3 to 5 years prior to the current issue. |
| Lexis-Nexis (Academic Search) |
Yes |
Full-text access to newspaper and magazine articles, federal and state legislation and case law, business and medical information, and much more. more information |
| Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts |
Yes |
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s. |
| MAS Ultra - School Edition |
Yes |
Periodical/magazine articles, primary source documents, biographies, and images/photographs designed to support high school-level research. Full-text of over 500 magazines, many from 1975 to the present. |
| MathSciNet |
Yes |
MathSciNet provides access to signed reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage is from 1940-present. |
| MEDLINE |
Yes |
Abstracted articles from more than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine. |
| Merlot |
Yes |
Index to and abstracts of peer-reviewed online learning materials (tutorials, lessons, etc.) for college-level students. Compiled by the California State University System and other university, research, and professional partners around the world. |
| Mental Measurements Yearbook |
Yes |
Index to psychological test and assessment instruments published from 1985 to the present. Descriptions of tests include scores, comments, summary, pricing, and publisher information. |
| Mergent Online |
Yes |
Data on U.S. and international companies, including SEC filings, annual reports, fact sheets on stocks, earnings estimates, long-term debt/bond portraits, and industry reports from around the world. |
| Military and Government Collection |
Yes |
Searches citations to and descriptions of 400 journals and other periodicals on military and related governmental topics, including the cover-to-cover full-text for nearly 300 of these sources. |
| Million Dollar Database |
Yes |
See D&B Million Dollar Database. |
| MLA Bibliography |
Yes |
Citations to scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 6,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings published from 1926 to the present. |
| Minerva |
No |
Searchable catalog of the California State Archives, including descriptions of selected materials held by the archives. (Prefers Internet Explorer - not all features work properly in Mozilla FireFox.) |
| MUSE (Project MUSE) |
Yes |
Full-text of over 300 journals published by university/academic presses primarily in the fields of literature, philosophy and history. |
| MuSICA |
No |
The MuSICA database, which is maintained by the Center for the Neurobiology of Learning and Memory at the University of California, Irvine, consists of over 40,000 references and abstracts on music as related to behavior, the brain and allied fields. The citations are drawn from several databases, including ERIC and PsycINFO, and include portions of items obtained from original sources such as conference proceedings, book chapters, and miscellaneous publications. |
| NCJRS Abstracts Database |
No |
The National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database contains summaries of more than 150,000 criminal justice publications, including Federal, State, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. |
| Net Library |
Yes |
A collection of electronic books in the fields of business and economics, computer science, education, psychology, science, social science and general reference selected to support the curricular needs of California State University students. Also provides access to approximately 3400 publicly accessible titles. |
| New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd Edition |
Yes |
Contains over 29,000 articles on all aspects of music. Provides the full text of the 29-volume print edition as well as the complete text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera. |
| Online Archive of California |
Yes |
Online access to historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Items available include: over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections. |
| Oxford English Dictionary Online |
Yes |
Provides the full text of the 20-volume print edition, which is generally recognized as the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. |
| Oxford Journals Online |
Yes |
Full-text of articles from over 170 journals published by Oxford from 1996 to the present. Oxford Journals Online includes selected journals from the arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines. |
| PapersFirst |
Yes |
Index of research papers presented by scholars at academic and research conferences. |
| Philosopher's Index |
Yes |
Searchable index of 380,000 scholarly research publications on philosophy. Includes descriptions of articles form over 500 journals, selected books, and chapters, as well as citations to book reviews. |
| Philosophical Books |
Yes |
Philosophical Books provides scholarly reviews of professional works of philosophy. |
| Physical Education Index |
Yes |
Covers a wide variety of topics relating to physical education. Contains more than 226,510 records from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage is from 1970 - current. Updated monthly.interface> |
| PILOTS |
No |
PILOTS is a bibliographical database covering Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. It is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont. |
| Population Index |
No |
The primary reference tool to the world's population index. Published 1986-2000. |
| ProceedingsFirst |
Yes |
Index of conference publications. |
| Project MUSE |
Yes |
Full-text of over 300 journals published by university/academic presses primarily in the fields of literature, philosophy and history. |
| ProQuest Direct |
Yes |
Contains several business databases (including ABI/INFORM Global with many full-text articles from business, company and industry periodicals), ProQuest Newspapers (the full-text of over 500 U.S. and several international news sources) and Ethnic Newswatch (with the full-text of news sources published by a variety of U.S. ethnic groups). |
| ProQuest Dissertations & Theses |
Yes |
Includes descriptions (abstracts) of over 1 million dissertations and theses written for humanities and social sciences degrees, as well as the full-text (in PDF) of most of these dissertations written since 1997. |
| ProQuest Newspapers |
Yes |
Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources, coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times and the Times of London. Provides access to hundreds other news sources and news wires via the ProQuest Newsstand collection, as well as selected individual newspapers. |
| PsycARTICLES |
Yes |
More than 26,000 searchable full-text articles in the field of psychology from 49 peer reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations. Coverage is from 1988 to the present. |
| PsycCRITIQUES |
Yes |
Reviews of current books and films compiled by the American Psychology Association. Also includes reviews published after 1996 in the APA's previous review publication, Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books. |
| PsycINFO |
Yes |
Most comprehensive single index to research in psychology, including abstracts of 2 million articles (published in 1,300 journals from 1877 - present)), and abstracts of 400,000 dissertations and book chapters. (guide) |
| Public Administration Abstracts |
Yes |
SAGE Public Administration Abstracts provides cross-indexed abstracts covering recent literature (and related citations) on all aspects of public administration. Entries are drawn from books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, legislative research studies and other fugitive material. |
| PubMed / NLM Gateway |
No |
NLM Gateway searches several databases compiled by the National Library of Medicine, including PubMed. The PubMed database conists of bibliographic information drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE. |
| RAND California |
Yes |
Features statistics on California, bulletins on state and federal policy developments and an online library of research publications focusing on policy issues. |
| RIA Checkpoint - Tax Library |
No |
Published by Thomson RIA, includes federal tax laws and research tools, the U.S Tax Reporter, a complete case law library, and tax materials for all U.S. state s. |
| Readers' Guide Full Text |
Yes |
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of over 1 million articles published in popular magazines from 1984 to the present. Includes the full-text of articles from over 250 periodicals. |
| Readers' Guide Retrospective |
Yes |
Abstracts of over 3 milllion articles published in 375 leading magazines from 1890 to 1982. |
| Safari Tech Books Online |
Yes |
Full text of 317 books published by O'Reilly & Associates. The books cover a wide range of IT topics, including .NET, Cisco Products, Databases, Enterprise Computing, Networking, Operating Systems (Windows, Linus, Unix, Macintosh), Programming and Software Engineering, and Internet (Web, Java and, XML). (Alternate interface enabled for maximum accessibility.) |
| Sage Premier |
Yes |
Full-text of articles published in 440 selected journals from 1999 to the present, including titles in social science, science, medicine, and business. |
Sage Family Studies Abstracts |
Yes |
SAGE Family Studies Abstracts abstracts articles, reports, books and other materials on policy, theory and research relating to the family, traditional and alternative lifestyles, therapy and counseling. |
Sage Public Administration Abstracts |
Yes |
SAGE Public Administration Abstracts provides cross-indexed abstracts covering recent literature (and related citations) on all aspects of public administration. Entries are drawn from books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, legislative research studies and other fugitive material. |
| ScienceDirect |
Yes |
ScienceDirect provides full-text access to over 900 journals in the fields of science and social science, with coverage from 1998-present. Subjects covered include Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Clinical Medicine; Computer Science; Earth and Planetary Sciences; Economics, Business and Management; Engineering, Energy and Technology; Environmental Science and Technology; Life Sciences; Materials Science; Mathematics; Physics and Astronomy; and Social and Behavioural Sciences. |
| Scitation and SPIN |
Yes |
Two search databases provided by the American Insitutute of Physics. SPIN indexes includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. Scitation indexes over 600,000 articles from over 125 physics journals. The interface allows the user to choose either database or both for searching. |
| Social Science Research Data |
Yes |
Access to advanced research data sets (usually not including summary statistics but individual responses to surveys). These data sets generally need to be analyzed by a statistical software package like SPSS. |
| Social Sciences Full Text |
Yes |
Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 700,000 articles published in over 600 key social science journals from 1984 to the present. Subjects covered include anthropology, area studies, criminal Justice, economics, environmental studies, gender studies, geography, public administration, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology. Also includes the full-text of articles from 250 journals. |
| Social Services Abstracts |
Yes |
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,406 serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews. Coverage is from 1980-current, and the database is updated monthly. |
| Social Work Abstracts |
Yes |
See Social Services Abstracts |
| Sociological Abstracts |
Yes |
Citations from over 2,000 journals plus dissertations, conference papers and books in sociology and related disciplines. |
| Springer Link |
Yes |
Access to the full-text of articles from over 1,000 journals published from 1997 to the present by Springer. Subjects covered include biology, business, chemistry, computer science, criminal justice, earth science, economics, environmental science, medicine, mathematics, physics and astronomy, and selected social sciences. |
| Stanislaus Region History and Culture Image Collection |
Yes |
Over 200 photographs and other images illustrating the history of Turlock, Stanislaus County, and the Central Valley region taken from the library's Special Collections. Accessible via Calisphere and CAC - the Online Archive of California. |
| Stat-USA |
Yes |
U.S. Department of Commerce's source for business and economic information including the popular National Trade Data Bank (NTDB). |
| Synergy-Blackwell |
Yes |
Access to the full-text of hundreds of thousands of articles published in 750 peer-reviewed journals by Blackwell f rom 1997 to the present. This collection includes 357 journal titles in the humanities and social sciences and 401 in science, technology an d medicine. |
| Thomson RIA Checkpoint |
No |
For a description of the Academic Advantage Core Library published by Thomon RIA, see RIA Checkpoint. |
| Topographical Maps |
No |
Searchable index of maps available in the University Library's collection of 7.5 and 15 minute maps published by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). |
| Value Line Investment Survey |
Yes |
Information on approximately 1,700 stocks and more than 90 industries. |
| Wiley InterScience |
Yes |
Wiley InterScience provides full-text access to over 600 journals published by John Wiley & Sons. The journals focus mainly on the sceinces, and the coverage is from 1997-current. Subjects covered include Business, Finance & Management; Chemistry; Computer Science; Earth Science; Education; Engineering; Law; Life and Medical Sciences; Mathematics and Statistics; Physics; and Psychology. |
| Wilson OmniFile FT Mega |
Yes |
Abstracts of articles published since 1984 in over key 3,500 key publications, including academic journals and popular magazines. Also includes the full-text of articles from over 1,700 of these periodicals. |
| WorldArt Kiosk |
No |
The WorldArt Kiosk contains over 35,000 searchable images of art works from around the world, compiled by the faculty, students and staff of the California State University System. |
| WorldCat |
Yes |
FirstSearch database with over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries: books, musical scores, manuscripts, videorecordings, cassettes, maps, etc. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. |
| WorldCat Dissertations |
Yes |
Citations to over 5 million dissertations and theses cataloged by libraries around the nation. A subset of the WorldCat database. |
Library Catalog | Contact Us | Quick Links | What's New | Help