Database name starts with:
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Name of Resource Description / Information  
ABI/INFORM Business Databases Full-text of articles on business (accounting, finance, managment, marketing) from news, industry, and peer-reviewed publications. Also includes company information and market/business climate analyses. more information
Academic Search Elite Search for journal articles in all subjects (mostly from peer-reviewed journals, also from key popular/news magazines). Search Tips & Guide | more information
ACLS History & Humanities E-Book Project Full-text of over 1000 books of interest to scholars and advanced students in the field of history. Areas covered include Womens Studies as well as U.S., European, Native American and Middle Eastern history from ancient times to the present.
ACM Digital Library Full-text of 40 computer science journals and trade publications, as well as proceedings from 80 conferences.
ACM Guide to Computing Literature Citations to and/or abstracts of over 1 million publications in computer science, including journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.
AGRICOLA Index to research and publications relating to all aspects of agriculture, forestry, and animal science.
America: History and Life Citations to scholarly journal articles and other research publications on the history of the United States and Canada from pre-colonial times to the present.
American Chemical Society Publications Full-text of over 500,000 articles published in 45 current and historical American Chemical Society journals.
American Institute of Physics Contains the full text of 38 journals from the American Institute of Physics and its member societies.
Anthropological Index Online Index to articles published in over 1500 anthropology journals from 1957 - present.
Anthropology Plus Index to articles published in anthropology journals and series from the 19th century - present. more information
AnthroSource Full-text of 40,000 articles from 30 journals published by the American Anthropoligical Society from 1888 to the present.
Art Abstracts Index to and abstracts of articles in key art journals published from 1984 to the present.
Article First Index to articles in over 16,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. 
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) Index of journal articles as well as selected books, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs related to art and art history.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index Index to biographical sketches published in over 700 biographical dictionaries.
Biological Abstracts Citations to over 7 million articles published in over 4,000 life science and biomedical journals from 1969 to the present.
Blackwell-Synergy Now part of Wiley Interscience.
Book Review Digest Retrospective Index to 1.5 million reviews of over 300,000 books published from 1905-1982, including a summary of at least one review for each book.
Book Review Index Citations to critiques of books published in thousands of selected academic journals, newspapers and magazines from 1965 to the present.
Books In Print Catalog of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books, audios and videos, with optional reviews.
Britannica Online Basic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. more information
Business Full Text Index to 800 key business journals from 1984 to the present. Includes direct access to the full-text of articles from over 400 business, trade, and scholarly publications.  
Calisphere Includes primary source materials (photographs, newspapers, diaries, etc.) from the University of California and other cultural heritage organizations.
Checkpoint - Core Tax Library Full-text of federal tax laws and research tools, the U.S Tax Reporter, a complete case law library, and tax materials for all U.S. states.
Chicano Database Citations to books and articles on Mexican-American and Latino topics.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text Citations to articles from over 3,000 nursing and allied health journals published from 1937 to the present,as well as selected books, dissertations, and other nursing-related materials.
ClasePeriodica Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities.
Classical Music Library (CML) Streaming audio of over 20,000 classical music recordings.
CollegeSource Online Full-text versions of over 6,900 college catalogs. 
Communication and Mass Media Complete Full-text of articles from over 200 communications and media journals, and descriptions of articles from over 300 additional journals and trade publications.
Contemporary Authors
Biographical profiles of current authors, a bibliography of their publications, as well as citations to important critiques of their work.
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Full-text of selected articles that critique and interpret works by current authors.
Contemporary Women's Issues (CWI) Full-text of articles and other publications related to women and women's issues.
CountryWatch.com Profiles of political, economic, corporate and environmental news and trends for every country in the world.
CQ Electronic Library Full-text of the CQ Researcher (1991 - present), CQ Weekly Report (1983 - present), and selected government, political science, and public policy materials published by the CQ Press.
CQ Researcher Excellent overviews of over 500 key social, economic, and policy issues in American society. Each week a new topic is covered in a 20-30 page report, including an overview, background, the current debate, likely outcomes, pro/con arguments, and a bibliography of key sources.
Criminal Justice Abstracts Citations to 80,000 journal articles, books and reports in criminology and related disciplines published from 1968 to the present. Search Tips & Guide
CSA Social Science Search Searches several key databases in sociology/social science (Socio Abs, Social Services Abs, ERIC) as well as recent references and selected websites.
CWI (Contemporary Women's Issues) Full-text of articles and other publications related to women and women's issues.  
D&B Million Dollar Database
Basic data on U.S. companies, such as addresses, ticker symbols, number of employees, sales, and SIC/NAICS codes. Advanced search options include industry, company size, geographic areas and keywords.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Biographical information about authors who wrote from ancient times to the 20th century, a bibliography of their publications, as well as citations to important critiques of their work.
Directory of Open Access Journals A free website which links to over 2500 scientific and scholarly journals that provide free access to full-text articles online.
Dissertations Full-Text (ProQuest) Abstracts of over 1 million dissertations and theses written for humanities and social sciences degrees, as well as the full-text (in PDF) of most of these dissertations written since 1997. Does not cover science and engineering.
Dissertation Abstracts Abstracts of over 2 million dissertations from all disciplines (including science and engineering) accepted at accredited institutions since 1861. 
DOAJ Free Article Search Searches over 100,000 articles freely available from over 800 of the scientific, scholarly journals listed in the Directory of Open Access Journals site.
eBooks
(from OCLC)
Index to hundreds of thousands of online and electronic books cataloged by libraries around the country.
Electronic Journal Collections
Links to of the library's online collections which include the full-text of journal articles.
EBSCO Host Research Databases
EBSCOhost Web includes databases which index journal articles and other research publications in biology, nursing, and psychology.
ECO
Collection of scholarly journals. Includes full text for titles to which library subscribes, and bibliographic information for other titles.
EconLit Citations to books, dissertations, and working papers in the field of economics.  Also available via the FirstSearch suite.
Education Full Text Abstracts of 600,000 articles published in over 700 education journals from 1984 to the present. Also includes direct access to the full-text of articles from over 300 peer-reviewed and trade journals in education.
Elsevier ScienceDirect See ScienceDirect.
Emerald

Full-text access to over 130 journals covering management, human resources, information management, library services, marketing, operations, and quality control.

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online Basic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. more information
ERIC
through FirstSearch
Abstracts of research in education, including journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The FirstSearch interface includes an option to limit to journals cataloged by the University Library. Search Tips & Guide
ERIC
through CSA
Abstracts of research in education, including journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The version from CSA can be searched simultaneously with Physical Educaton Abstracts.
ERIC
through EBSCO
Abstracts of research in education, including journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The EBSCO interface allows for searching PsycINFO at the same time (using the Choose Databases option)
ERIC
via the U.S. Dept. of Education
Abstracts of research in education, including journal articles and ERIC documents (which include selected books, dissertations, government reports, conference papers, etc.). The version from the U.S. Government is free to the general public.
Ethnic NewsWatch Full-text of articles published in more than 200 newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. The database is searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages and approximately 20% of the articles in Spanish. Includes over 1.4 million articles published from 1990 to the present, as well as several thousand from 1950 - 1989.
Factiva Provides full-text access to over 8,000 business and current events sources, including newspapers, magazines, and newswires. Current stock prices, market research reports, and investment analyst reports are also available. Formerly called Dow Jones Interactive.
FASB Reports Full-text of Financial Accounting Standards Board reports and articles published from 2001 to the present.
FirstSearch Suite of databases with extensive citations to books, articles, and conference publications worldwide.  Includes ArticleFirst, ContentsFirst, ERIC, GPO, NetFirst, PapersFirst, ProceedingsFirst, and WorldCat.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia Basic encyclopedia compiling over 25,000 entries on general topics. Also includes selected images and brief biographies.  
Gale Literary Databases Biographies, bibliographies and criticism of over 100,000 authors, drawn from three respected reference publications, Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Searchable full-text of over 90 encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference works in the arts, biography, business, education, history, law, literature, medicine, religion, science and social science.
Gender Watch Provides access to over 100,000 articles focusing on gender roles as they affect both men and women. Titles from academic, popular, and gray literature include coverage of sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, day care, and the workplace.
General Reference Center Gold Descriptions of articles from over 4,000 magazines, professional and trade journals, academic journals, and selected newspapers. Includes the full-text of roughly half of the articles listed.
General Science Full Text Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 1 million articles published in almost 300 science journals from 1984 to the present. Subjects covered include astronomy, biology, botany, chemistry, earth science, environment, health, mathematics, medicine, microbiology, physics, physiology, and zoology. Also includes the full-text of articles from over 100 science publications.
GEOBASE Contains over one million records dealing with geography, geology, and ecology. Covers journals, books, monographs, conference proceedings, and reports. Coverage is from 1980-present. Updated twice per month.   Also available via the FirstSearch suite.
GPO Over 380,000 records for U.S. government publications on all subjects of interest to the U.S. government.
GreenFile Index to over 200,000 articles related to the human impact on the environment published in over 600 periodicals (including over 200 peer-reviewed journals).Topics covered include global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Grove Art Online Access to 45,000 peer-reviewed articles from the foremost scholarly art encyclopedia. Now part of the Oxford Art Online
Grove Music Online Contains over 50,000 articles on all aspects of music from Grove's leading encyclopedias on music, opera, and jazz. Now part of the Oxford Music Online  
Highwire Press A free website which searches descriptions of over 4 million articles published in 1000 scholarly journals, including 71 of the 200 most-frequently-cited journals. Provides free access to the full-text of over 1 million articles.
Historical Abstracts Citations to and abstracts of journal articles, selected books, chapters, and dissertations on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada).
History & Humanities E-Book Project See ACLS Humanities E-Book Project.
Humanities Full Text Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of 250,000 articles and reviews of 300,000 books published in over 600 humanities journals from 1984 to the present. Subjects covered include archaeology, area studies, art, communications, dance, film, folklore, gender studies, history, literature, music, philosophy, and theatre. Also includes the full-text of articles published in over 200 humanities journals from 1995 to the present.  
ICPSR Data Sets The Inter-univeristy Consortium for Political and Social Research provides access to research data sets gathered by governments, academic researchers, non-profit organizations and other organizations. Data sets generally include individual responses to surveys, and need to be analyzed using a program like SPSS. [guide]
In the First Person Index to primary source materials available in over 3,000 historical archives around the country. Includes information on over 15,000 people, including access to the full-text of 20,000 diary entries, 60,000 letters, and 17,000 oral histories.
Ingenta Connect Indexes and abstracts over 10 million articles from over 25,000 research publications.
IoP Select Access to selected articles from Institute of Physics research journals, including the Journal of Physics (A, B, D and G), Journal of Optics, Nanotechnology, Physical Biology, Physics in Medicine and Biology, and Physiological Measurement.
JSTOR Online archive of older issues of scholarly journals from a wide variety of disciplines in the arts and sciences. more information  
Lexis-Nexis (Academic Search) Full-text access to newspaper and magazine articles, federal and state legislation and case law, business and medical information, and much more. more information
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.  
MAS Ultra - School Edition Periodical/magazine articles, primary source documents, biographies, and images/photographs designed to support high school-level research. Full-text of over 500 magazines, many from 1975 to the present.
MathSciNet MathSciNet provides access to signed reviews and bibliographic data from Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Coverage is from 1940-present.
MEDLINE Abstracted articles from more than 3,500 journals published internationally, covering all areas of medicine.
Merlot Index to and abstracts of peer-reviewed online learning materials (tutorials, lessons, etc.) for college-level students. Compiled by the California State University System and other university, research, and professional partners around the world.
Mental Measurements Yearbook Index to psychological test and assessment instruments published from 1985 to the present. Descriptions of tests include scores, comments, summary, pricing, and publisher information.
Mergent Online Data on U.S. and international companies, including SEC filings, annual reports, fact sheets on stocks, earnings estimates, long-term debt/bond portraits, and industry reports from around the world. more information
Merriam-Webster's
(Dictionary and Thesaurus)
Definitions, pronunciation guides, word histories, synonyms, and antonyms. Part of the Britannica Online service. more information
Military and Government Collection Searches citations to and descriptions of 400 journals and other periodicals on military and related governmental topics, including the cover-to-cover full-text for nearly 300 of these sources.
Million Dollar Database
See D&B Million Dollar Database.
MLA Bibliography Citations to scholarship on literature, language, linguistics, and folklore from over 6,000 journals and series, monographs, working papers and conference proceedings published from 1926 to the present.
Minerva Searchable catalog of the California State Archives, including descriptions of selected materials held by the archives. (Prefers Internet Explorer - not all features work properly in Mozilla FireFox.)
MUSE (Project MUSE) Full-text of over 300 journals published by university/academic presses primarily in the fields of literature, philosophy and history.
Music Index Index to journal/periodical articles and selected dissertations/conference proceedings on music, musicians, and the music industry. more information
MuSICA The MuSICA database, which is maintained by the Center for the Neurobiology of Learning and Memory at the University of California, Irvine, consists of over 40,000 references and abstracts on music as related to behavior, the brain and allied fields. The citations are drawn from several databases, including ERIC and PsycINFO, and include portions of items obtained from original sources such as conference proceedings, book chapters, and miscellaneous publications.
NCJRS Abstracts Index to criminal justice research in selected government & research reports, books and journal articles. Also available via the U.S. Dept. of Justice more information
Net Library A collection of electronic books in the fields of business and economics, computer science, education, psychology, science, social science and general reference selected to support the curricular needs of California State University students. Also provides access to approximately 3400 publicly accessible titles. 
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Contains over 29,000 articles on all aspects of music. Provides the full text of the 29 volumes from the print publication (2nd edition) as well as the complete text of the New Grove Dictionary of Opera.  
Online Archive of California Online access to historical materials from a variety of California institutions, including museums, historical societies, and archives. Items available include: over 120,000 images; 50,000 pages of documents, letters, and oral histories; and 8,000 guides to collections.
Oxford Art Online Excellent introductions to and overviews of major artists, works, styles and movements through the history of the visual arts. more information
Oxford English Dictionary Online Provides the full text of the 20-volume print edition, which is generally recognized as the most authoritative and comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Contains the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past.
Oxford Journals Online Full-text of articles from over 170 journals published by Oxford from 1996 to the present. Oxford Journals Online includes selected journals from the arts, social science, scientific, technical, medical, professional and humanities disciplines.
Oxford Music Online Excellent introductions to and overviews of major musicians, works, styles and movements through the history of the music. more information  
PapersFirst Index of research papers presented by scholars at academic and research conferences.
Philosopher's Index Searchable index of 380,000 scholarly research publications on philosophy. Includes descriptions of articles form over 500 journals, selected books, and chapters, as well as citations to book reviews.
Philosophical Books Philosophical Books provides scholarly reviews of professional works of philosophy.
Physical Education Index Covers a wide variety of topics relating to physical education. Contains more than 226,510 records from peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Coverage is from 1970 - current. Updated monthly. Search Tips & Guide
PILOTS PILOTS is a bibliographical database covering Published International Literature On Traumatic Stress. It is produced at the headquarters of the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder in White River Junction, Vermont.
Population Index The primary reference tool to the world's population index. Published 1986-2000.
ProceedingsFirst Index of conference publications.
Project MUSE Full-text of over 300 journals published by university/academic presses primarily in the fields of literature, philosophy and history.
ProQuest Direct Contains several business databases (including ABI/INFORM Global with many full-text articles from business, company and industry periodicals), ProQuest Newspapers (the full-text of over 500 U.S. and several international news sources) and Ethnic Newswatch (with the full-text of news sources published by a variety of U.S. ethnic groups).
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Includes descriptions (abstracts) of over 1 million dissertations and theses written for humanities and social sciences degrees, as well as the full-text (in PDF) of most of these dissertations written since 1997.
ProQuest Newspapers Full text of 300+ U.S. and international news sources, coverage of 150+ major U.S. and international newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times and the Times of London. Provides access to hundreds other news sources and news wires via the ProQuest Newsstand collection, as well as selected individual newspapers.
PsycARTICLES More than 26,000 searchable full-text articles in the field of psychology from 49 peer reviewed journals published by APA and allied organizations. Coverage is from 1988 to the present.
PsycCRITIQUES Reviews of current books and films compiled by the American Psychology Association. Also includes reviews published after 1996 in the APA's previous review publication, Contemporary Psychology: APA Review of Books.
PsycINFO Most comprehensive single index to research in psychology, including abstracts of 2 million articles (published in 1,300 journals from 1877 - present)), and abstracts of 400,000 dissertations and book chapters. (guide)
Public Administration Abstracts SAGE Public Administration Abstracts provides cross-indexed abstracts covering recent literature (and related citations) on all aspects of public administration. Entries are drawn from books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, legislative research studies and other fugitive material.
PubMed / NLM Gateway NLM Gateway searches several databases compiled by the National Library of Medicine, including PubMed. The PubMed database conists of bibliographic information drawn primarily from MEDLINE and PREMEDLINE.
RAND California
Features statistics on California, bulletins on state and federal policy developments and an online library of research publications focusing on policy issues.
RIA Checkpoint - Tax Library Published by Thomson RIA, includes federal tax laws and research tools, the U.S Tax Reporter, a complete case law library, and tax materials for all U.S. state s.
Readers' Guide Full Text Searches the abstracts (descriptions) of over 1 million articles published in popular magazines from 1984 to the present. Includes the full-text of articles from over 250 periodicals.  
Readers' Guide Retrospective Abstracts of over 3 milllion articles published in 375 leading magazines from 1890 to 1982.  
Safari Tech Books Online Full text of 317 books published by O'Reilly & Associates. The books cover a wide range of IT topics, including .NET, Cisco Products, Databases, Enterprise Computing, Networking, Operating Systems (Windows, Linus, Unix, Macintosh), Programming and Software Engineering, and Internet (Web, Java and, XML). (Alternate interface enabled for maximum accessibility.)
Sage Premier Full-text of articles published in 440 selected journals from 1999 to the present, including titles in social science, science, medicine, and business.
Sage Public Administration Abstracts SAGE Public Administration Abstracts provides cross-indexed abstracts covering recent literature (and related citations) on all aspects of public administration. Entries are drawn from books, articles, pamphlets, government publications, significant speeches, legislative research studies and other fugitive material.
ScienceDirect ScienceDirect provides full-text access to over 900 journals in the fields of science and social science, with coverage from 1998-present. Subjects covered include Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Clinical Medicine; Computer Science; Earth and Planetary Sciences; Economics, Business and Management; Engineering, Energy and Technology; Environmental Science and Technology; Life Sciences; Materials Science; Mathematics; Physics and Astronomy; and Social and Behavioural Sciences.
Scitation and SPIN Two search databases provided by the American Insitutute of Physics. SPIN indexes includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations. Scitation indexes over 600,000 articles from over 125 physics journals. The interface allows the user to choose either database or both for searching.
Social Science Research Data Access to advanced research data sets (usually not including summary statistics but individual responses to surveys). These data sets generally need to be analyzed by a statistical software package like SPSS.
Social Sciences Full Text Abstracts of 700,000 articles published in over 600 key social science journals from 1984 to the present.
Social Services Abstracts Index to current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Social Work Abstracts See Social Services Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts Citations from over 2,000 journals plus dissertations, conference papers and books in sociology and related disciplines.
Springer Link Full-text of articles from over 1,000 journals published from 1997 to the present by Springer.
Stanislaus Region History and Culture Image Collection Over 200 photographs and other images illustrating the history of Turlock, Stanislaus County, and the Central Valley region taken from the library's Special Collections. Accessible via Calisphere and CAC - the Online Archive of California.
Synergy-Blackwell Now part of Wiley Interscience.  
Theatre in Video Video recordings of plays and documentaries on theatre/drama topics more information
Thomson RIA Checkpoint For a description of the Academic Advantage Core Library published by Thomon RIA, see RIA Checkpoint.
Topographical Maps Index of USGS 7.5' and 15' maps available in the University Library.  
Value Line Investment Survey Information on approximately 1,700 stocks and more than 90 industries.
Wiley Interscience Full-text of over 1400 scholarly journals published by Wiley & Blackwell. more information
Wilson OmniFile FT Mega Abstracts of articles published since 1984 in over key 3,500 key publications, including academic journals and popular magazines. Also includes the full-text of articles from over 1,700 of these periodicals.
WorldImages Contains over 35,000 searchable images of art works from around the world, compiled by the faculty, students and staff of the California State University System.
WorldCat FirstSearch database with over 36 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries: books, musical scores, manuscripts, videorecordings, cassettes, maps, etc. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. 
WorldCat Dissertations Citations to over 5 million dissertations and theses cataloged by libraries around the nation. A subset of the WorldCat database.
Address: CSU Stanislaus Library
One University Circle
Turlock, CA 95382
Tel: 209-667-3234 | Contact Us | Directions | Campus Map